Wally Funk, oldest woman to go to space, joins Stars for NASA Night – NHL.com

Welcome to NHL.com, the official site of the National Hockey League
Bienvenue à LNH.com , le site officiel de la Ligue nationale de hockey
Tervetuloa NHL:n viralliselle nettisivustolle NHL.comiin
Välkommen till NHL.com, NHL:s officiella web-sida
Vítejte na NHL.com, oficiálních stránkách National Hockey League
Vitajte na NHL.com, oficiálnych stránkach National Hockey League
Willkommen auf NHL.com, der offiziellen Seite der National Hockey League
Bienvenido a NHL.com, el sitio oficial de la National Hockey League
History was written in the Dallas Stars on Tuesday.
The Stars hosted NASA Night at American Airlines Center and since they couldn’t bring the fans to space, they brought space to them.
Mary Wallace “Wally” Funk, an American pilot and commercial astronaut, was in attendance and received a custom Stars jersey. She greeted the crowd with an ear-to-ear smile and bear-hug arms.
Tweet from @DallasStars: You’re never too old to pursue your dreams. ���Wally Funk, the oldest woman to go to space, joined us last night for @NASA Night! 🌌 pic.twitter.com/hLPof0aTFR
In 1961, Funk was one of 13 women pilots selected to undergo testing for Project Mercury: NASA’s first human spaceflight program.
Despite strong medical and psychological test results, the then-22-year-old, along with the rest of the women, were not chosen to go into space, only the men were.
Sixty years later, Funk was finally chosen to take flight.
On July 20, 2021, Funk joined Amazon founder Jeff Bezos on his flight to the edge of space aboard a rocket and capsule developed by his private spaceflight company Blue Origin. Aboard the flight was also Bezos’ brother Mark and Oliver Daemen, an 18-year-old from the Netherlands who became the youngest person to reach space.
And Funk, at age 82, who became the oldest woman to lift off.
Also in attendance for NASA Night was NASA Flight Director Paul Konyha, who performed the pre-game ceremonial puck drop.
Tweet from @DallasStars: A puck drop that’s outta this world 🌎🚀Thank you, @NASA Flight Director Paul Konyha, for dropping the puck and launching us into tonight’s game!@NASA_Johnson | #TexasHockey pic.twitter.com/8tWTZsp0sR
It was an other-wordly night for all.

NHL.com is the official web site of the National Hockey League. NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup, Center Ice name and logo, NHL Conference logos, NHL Winter Classic name, and The Biggest Assist Happens Off The Ice are registered trademarks and the Stanley Cup Playoffs logo, Stanley Cup Final logo, Stanley Cup Qualifiers name and logo, NHL.TV, Vintage Hockey word mark and logo, The Game Lives Where You Do, NHL Winter Classic logo, NHL Heritage Classic name and logo, NHL Stadium Series name and logo, NHL All-Star logo, NHL Face-Off name and logo, NHL Premium, NHL After Dark, NHL GameCenter, NHL GameCenter LIVE, NHL Network name and logo, NHL Tonight name and logo, On The Fly, NHL Network Showdown name and logo, NHL Awards name and logo, NHL Draft name and logo, NHL Mascots, Hockey Fights Cancer, Because It’s The Cup, NHL Green name and logo, NHL Vault, Hockey Is For Everyone, NHL Thanksgiving Showdown name and logo, NHL Centennial Classic name and logo, NHL Centennial Season logo, NHL100 Classic name and logo, NHL Global Series name and logo, NHL China Games name and logo, NHL Power Players name and logo, NHL Outdoors at Lake Tahoe name and logo, NHL Street name and logo, and Don’t Miss A Moment are trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. © NHL 2022. All Rights Reserved. All NHL team jerseys customized with NHL players’ names and numbers are officially licensed by the NHL and the NHLPA. The Zamboni word mark and configuration of the Zamboni ice resurfacing machine are registered trademarks of Frank J. Zamboni & Co., Inc.© Frank J. Zamboni & Co., Inc. 2022. All Rights Reserved. Any other third party trademarks or copyrights are the property of their respective owners. All rights reserved.


%d bloggers like this: